Posted by: Paprika | 02/24/2009

my wordpress is now google verified

Ever since I started blogging, I always submit my blog site to google or sometimes yahoo for indexing and pagerank. Submitting your site to google and other popular search engines is the most effective way of getting more targeted traffic to your website, without spending a dime for advertising.  I am very particular about search engines, and I only submit my site to google because it can dig deeper into my website promptly and easily. Yahoo always keep me waiting for days. At google, you don’t need to submit every single page on your web site,  just submit the home page and goolgebot will take care of the rest. There are other search engine where you can send your site, but google is most recommended. Hey, I have found a cool site that will tell you more about google and everything it has to offer, check out the site, it’s called googleguide. Or you may want to educate yourself more about getting listed in google and other popular search engine, visit hobo. It will tell you everything!

Now go back to my wordpress blog being google verified, he he he… As I have said from my previous entry, I’m a new wordpress user and I’m not yet well-versed in using the wordpress dashboard. So getting my wordpress.com blog google verified was a struggle. Because I don’t know where to put my verification code. I do not have any access to the index.php/html/css  whatever of my site. My site is wordpress hosted blog, so only wordpress can access those files. All I can access is my dashboard, how am I supposed to add the meta  tag  or even upload the .html file? So I asked Mr. Google to help me and started digging the www planet looking for ‘how to verify my wordpress’ blah blah…

Finally!!!! after hours of rummaging through the internet, my instinct guided me to find the forum section of wordpress.com and there I found what I need to do to get my wordpress.com blog google verified. What a charm!?!

The instruction is so easy and I have it copied here word by word, just in case your too lazy to have one more click to go there.

How do I verify my site with Google?

You can verify your site with Google Webmaster tools by following the steps below:

  1. Log into your Google account through the Webmaster Tools Page.
  2. Add your site
  3. Go to the Statistics tab and click on the link that says verify.
  4. In the web master tools section select “Upload an HTML file” as your method of verification.
  5. Create a new Page (not a Post) and use the code they give you as the title. Example: google4f645e3adsdaa48g3a41z.html
  6. Click to publish your Page
  7. Ask Google to verify your Blog.

Just that, it worked for me.

Now what?

next is add your SITEMAP.

You don’t need to create a sitemap because wordpress.com have already do that for you.  And is already available to every search engine, like google, Yahoo, MSN, Ask.com and others.

Your sitemap is: yourblogname.wordpress.com/sitemap.xml. Go check it out.

Mine is: https://dvirtualist.wordpress.com/sitemap.xml :p

That’s all for tonight. Oh by the way, to my happiness, I also created a lens about  wordpress hosted blog  google verification

NOW, IT’S TIME FOR YOU TO SUBMIT “AUTHENTICATE” YOUR SITE TO YAHOO! SITE EXPLORE, YOU CAN FOLLOW THE ABOVE INSTRUCTION FOR WORDPRESS.COM USER, BUT IF YOU ARE USING BLOGGER/BLOGSPOT — CHECK OUT MY BLOGGER SITE EASY INSTRUCTIONS.

Goodnight everyone…tomorroww…

Responses

  1. well it doesn’t work. It say “We weren’t able to verify your site”. Do you know why?

  2. your lucky.

    i have spent two days trying to do this and it’s still not working.

    any sugguests

    starting to pull my hair out, which is quite difficuilt, due to not having much in the first place.

  3. It worked! You rule. Thanks.

  4. yeah! anyway thanks for dropping by! let’s rock the www planet!!!

  5. Its great! Thanks for the information…

  6. hi. thanks for dropping by

  7. nice blog. very informative! thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

